XING Mingzhao


XING Mingzhao

Member, Presidential Executive Council
Dean of the School of Medicine


(Michael) Mingzhao Xing, M.D., Ph.D., is currently Dean of School of Medicine and Chair Professor, Southern University of Science and Technology (SUSTech) in Shenzhen, Guangdong, China and Professor of Medicine (LOA), the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland, USA. Before joining SUSTech, he was a tenured Professor of Medicine at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He was also Professor of Oncology, Pathology, and Cellular & Molecular Medicine, Director of the Johns Hopkins Thyroid Tumor Center, and Chief of the Laboratory for Cellular and Molecular Thyroid Research at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He is a senior physician dually certified by the American Board of Physicians in internal medicine and endocrinology and metabolism. He is the former Chair of the Scientific Committee and the Annual Program Steering Committee of the American Thyroid Association. As a world-renowned physician scientist, Dr Xing and his colleagues were the first to discover the BRAF and TERT promoter mutations and translated them into clinical use for the diagnosis and prognostication of thyroid cancer, which has had a profound impact on the development of precision medicine of thyroid cancer.

Dr. Xing has been recognized with numerous professional awards, including the 2004 Johns Hopkins Clinician Scientist Award, the 2005 American Cancer Association’s Research Scholar Award, the 2006 Maryland Innovator Award, the 2013 British Endocrine Society's Endocrine-Related Cancer Research Award, the 2014 Chinese Endocrine Society's Zhu Xianyi Award, the 2016 American Thyroid Association's Paul Starr Award, and the Johns Hopkins' 2017 Paul W Ladenson Thyroid Award. Dr. Xing has been consistently recognized among the "World's Top Ten Thyroid Tumor Scholar Experts" by the USA Expertscape and "America's Top Doctors" by US News & World Report and other authoritative professional recognition entities. He is an elected and induced member of the prestigious Association of American Physicians.