Successive Leaders


ZHU Qingshi

Founding President of SUSTech, CAS Member


Zhu Qingshi was the President of the Southern University of Science and Technology from 2009 to 2014.

He received his first degree in 1968 from China University of Technology. He received an Honorary Doctorate of Science from Soka University of Japan and Nottingham University.

Professor Zhu is a famous physical chemist in China. He was elected as an Academician of the Chinese Academy of Science in 1991 and as an Academician of Third World Academy of Sciences in 2001. He was the president of the University of Science and Technology of China from 1998 to 2008, elected as a Fellow of American Physical Society in 1995 and the Institute of Physics in 2004.

LI Ming

Former Chairperson of University Council


Li Ming received his Ph.D. in management from Xi'an Jiaotong University. From 1982 to 1992, Dr. Li Ming was a Lecturer and Associate Professor at the Department of Social Science at Xi'an Jiaotong University. From 1992 to 2013, Dr. Li served in an array of key positions in the government of Shenzhen Municipality, including Vice Mayor and Director of the Public Security Bureau.

From 2014 to 2016, Dr. Li was the Chairman of University Council of the Southern University of Science and Technology.

In May 2016, the International Centre for Higher Education Innovation (ICHEI-SHENZHEN) appointed him as a Director.